Final Project for Coetail – Need Your Help

For my final Coetail project, I want to present a project where my students illustrate movement using digital animation.  The idea is to create a digital animation using a simple app on the iPad and then have the students share it with their peers in grade 4 and then a little farther away with students in our high school.  The ultimate goal would to find an art class outside of Japan to share with.

However, I want to change things up a bit for myself.  One of the hardest things for me is not always having feedback for the projects I design.  I want to continue to grow as an educator and to continue to improve the quality of of the assignments that I give to my classes.  So for this last project I want of open up things to everyone.  Give me some ideas or feedback and if I get it early enough I will try to incorporate it into my project as i go along.  I will also keep people posted by trying to make regular updates as to how things are going so far in this unit.

Below you will find the basic unit plan.  Read it over and let me know what you think.  The old adage of “2 heads are better than one” will hopefully help me out.

Stick Figures in Motion

Essential Questions

How can movement or a sequence of events be shown in an image?
In what ways can line be used to show movement in an image?
How can other subject areas affect the creation of my art images?
How does technology affect movement in an image?
How can I learn from sharing my work?

Understand

  • Skills which will help them, in later years, to depict people and objects accurately
  • Parallels between art and other subjects can be made in order to enhance all of their arts experiences (PE and Drama)
  • How to demonstrate creative thinking, construct knowledge, and develop innovative products and processes using technology
  • Digital media and environments to communicate and work collaboratively, including at a distance, to support individual learning and contribute to the learning of others

Know

  • People are unique in their features
  • Visual images can be used to show a sequence of events
  • Begin to make connections among their experiences in other subject areas (PE or drama)
  • Original works are a means of personal or group expression
  • Communicate information and ideas effectively to multiple audiences using a variety of media and formats
  • Vocabulary: line, movement, sequence, frame, frames per second, onion skinning

Skills

  • Create a series of “human” images using stick figures
  • Create the digital animation of movement on iPads using Flipboom
  • Collaborate with others to share work digitally
  • Reflect and learn from shared ideas about artwork

Assessment

  • Formative: Visual representation
  • Teacher observation of students’ ability to create an digital video showing  movement.  Observation of students then sharing and commenting on their work and the work of others

Strategies/Activities

  • Brainstorm the concept of movement in art. Show examples of artwork that suggest movement.
  • Demonstration on drawing stick figures
  • Have students take turns creating poses for their peers to draw in the middle of the room and have the other students sketch it on their iPads
  • Have students choose one of those poses to continue by moving it through its natural course.  In all, 3 poses will be drawn
  • Have students create a simple animation based on the 3 “anchor” poses
  • Simple introduction and discovery of the app Flipboom
  • Share finished work with their peers using Voice Thread
  • Digital display of animation and critique.

Resources

Equipment and Materials:

  • Ipads, Flipboom

Resources:

  • Artwork and videos of stick figure animation
  • Examples of Voice Thread
One response to “Final Project for Coetail – Need Your Help

  1. Awesome! I’m so sorry I’m the first to comment and I’m so late to be doing it too 😦 But this unit looks amazing! Have you shown them some of the PBS Off Book mini-documentaries we’ve watched in COETAIL? Also cinemagrams are starting to be more and more popular and there are a few apps that might work well for you. What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

